Are Doritos Gluten-Free?

Are Doritos Gluten-Free?

Doritos are manufactured by Frito Lay and there is one flavor considered gluten-free, and the rest don’t have gluten ingredients.

Doritos are Gluten-Free!

Gluten-Free

According to Frito Lay, the following flavor is the only one considered gluten-free.

  • DORITOS Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips

No Gluten Ingredients

According to Frito Lay, the following flavors do not contain gluten ingredients. However, due to how they are manufactured, there is most likely some cross-contamination.

  • Doritos Cheese Explosion Mix Flavored Tortilla Snacks
  • Doritos Cool Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Dinamita Chile Limón Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Dinamita Fiery Habanero Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Flamas Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Jacked 3d Bacon Cheddar Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Jacked 3d Jalapeño Pepper Jack Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Jacked Spicy Street Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Reduced Fat Cool Ranch® Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Reduced Fat Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Spicy Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Supreme Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Taco Explosion Mix Flavored Tortilla Snacks
  • Doritos Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Tapatio Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • Doritos Wild White Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips

In our example below we are using the Nacho cheese variety.

Doritos Ingredients (Nacho Cheese)

Ingredients: Organic Yellow Corn, Organic Expeller-Pressed Sunflower Oil, Organic Cheddar Cheese (Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Organic Maltodextrin (Made from Corn), Sea Salt, Organic Sweet Cream Buttermilk, Organic Tomato Powder, Flavors, Organic Onion Powder, Organic Romano Cheese (Cow’s Milk, Cheese Cultures, Salt, Enzymes), Organic Butter (Cream, Salt), Organic Skim Milk, Organic Spices, Citric Acid, Organic Garlic Powder, Organic Cream, and Lactic Acid.

Simply Doritos White Cheddar, 0.875oz (36 Count)
  • Crunchy chips and boldness make DORITOS snacks awesome
  • Simply put: our Simply snacks are the ones you feel good about sharing with the people you love most!
  • No artificial flavors, colors, or preservatives
  • This product is made with real cheese for simply delicious flavour.
  • Includes 36 (0.875oz) bags of Simply Doritos White Cheddar Tortilla Chips

Doritos Nutrition Info (Nacho Cheese)

Serving Size: 1 oz (28g/About 12 chips)
Total Calories: 150

Amount Per Serving%DV *
Total Fat 8g10%
Saturated Fat 1g5%
Cholesterol 0mg0%
Sodium 170mg7%
Total Carbohydrate 17g6%
Total Fat 8g
Dietary Fiber 1g4%
Sugars 0g 
Protein 2g 
Folate4%
Calcium 30mg2%
Iron0%

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

Source: Doritos Nutrition

4 thoughts on “Are Doritos Gluten-Free?”

  1. According to the Frito Lay website, only 1 variety is indeed gluten free, DORITOS® Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips. the other varieties are considered “Products Not Containing Gluten Ingredients.” In other words, Frito Lay has decided NOT to label them gluten free due to the very real possibility of cross-contamination. For those of us who are on a medically necessary gluten free diet, this is a vital difference. I’m quite glad for anyone not bothered by the difference, but it is quite misleading to label something as gluten free when even the company that produces it acknowledges otherwise.

    Reply
    • Hey Gavel,
      Thanks for your comment. Yes, we have updated the information above. I am not one of those people, as I have never been able to eat Doritos. Definitely want to make sure people are aware of cross-contamination.

      Reply
  2. These are not considered safe for a Celiac diet or very sensitive people. Most flavored Doritos are made in a cross-contamination situation. No gluten ingredients, but NOT safe to eat for Celiac and very sensitive diets.

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment Jacquie. We’ve updated the information above. There is only one flavor that is considered gluten-free, while the rest are only flavors that don’t contain gluten. There is a big difference between the two. The latter, meaning there is cross-contamination due to how they are manufactured.

      Reply

Leave a Comment

3