Are Funyuns Gluten-Free?
Funyuns are manufactured by Frito Lay and yes, they are gluten-free. However, Frito Lay does not specifically test and certify Funyuns as gluten-free. They simply don’t contain any gluten-free ingredients. Due to how they are manufactured, there is most likely some cross-contamination.
According to Frito Lay, the following flavors do not contain gluten:
- FUNYUNS Baked Onion Flavored Rings
- FUNYUNS Flamin’ Hot Onion Flavored Rings
- FUNYUNS Onion Flavored Rings
Funyuns Ingredients (Original)
Enriched Corn Meal (Corn Meal, Ferrous Sulfate, Niacin, Thiamin Mononitrate, Riboflavin, Folic Acid), Vegetable Oil (Sunflower, Corn, and/or Canola Oil), Salt, and less than 2% of the following: Corn Starch, Sugar, Corn Flour, Buttermilk, Maltodextrin (Made from Corn), Onion Powder, Monosodium Glutamate, Hydrolyzed Corn Protein, Dextrose, Garlic Powder, Natural Flavors (Including Natural Toasted Onion Flavor), and Gum Arabic. Contains Milk Ingredients.
- Pack of forty 0.75 ounce bags
- Snacks with the zesty flavor of onion and a delicious crunch
- Gluten free and kosher
- These much loved treats are fun to enjoy at lunch, as an after-school snack, or party refreshment
- Easy to carry, easy to store, and easy to pack
Funyuns Nutrition Info
Serving Size: Around 13 Pieces (28g)
Calories from Fat: 60
|Amount Per Serving||%DV *|
|Total Fat 6g||10%|
|Saturated Fat 1g||5%|
|Total Carbohydrate 16g||5%|
|Dietary Fiber <1g||3%|
*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.
Source: Funyuns Nutrition
Img src: Frito-Lay North America, Inc.
3 thoughts on “Are Funyuns Gluten-Free?”
I think monosodium glutamate is a huge exacerbator of symptoms for anyone that has celiac disease or gluten sensitivity.
Thanks for the comment. Yes, we’ve also updated the information above. While Funyuns don’t technically contain any gluten ingredients, they aren’t certified as gluten-free by Frito Lay due to how they are manufactured. So there is most likely cross-contamination.
MSG is very rarely sourced from wheat, and when it is, it is processed in a way that it does not contain the “gluten” that causes celiac reactions. Some people with IBS may get mild intestinal upset. Rarely, some people have a yet-unnamed auto immune response triggered by another wheat compound called ATIs, but they are not responding to gluten, and it is still quite rare for MSG to be made from wheat
The history of the MSG scare is pretty disgusting. MSG is harmless, with rare exceptions. MSG is naturally occurring in fermented foods. If you eat soysauce or sauerkraut, you’re eating MSG.