Are Pringles Gluten-Free?

Are Pringles Gluten-Free?

Pringles are manufactured by Kellogg’s and don’t claim to be gluten-free. Many different flavors of Pringles are made with wheat starch. Technically wheat starch is allowed in gluten-free foods by the FDA if the wheat starch is specially processed to remove gluten.

With that being said, unless it’s explicitly labeled as being processed to remove the gluten, wheat starch could contain a small amount of gluten. So I personally recommended avoiding Pringles until labeling becomes more clear.

Pringles are not Gluten-Free!

Pringles Ingredients (Original)

Dried Potatoes, Vegetable Oil (Contains One Or More Of The Following: Corn Oil, Cottonseed Oil, Soybean Oil, And/Or Sunflower Oil), Rice Flour, Wheat Starch, Maltodextrin, Mono And Diglycerides, Salt, Dextrose. Contains Wheat Ingredients.

Bestseller No. 1
Pringles Potato Crisps Chips, Lunch Snacks, Office and Kids Snacks, Snack Stacks, Variety Pack, 19.5oz Box (27 Cups)
  • Satisfy your snack craving with the irresistible taste of original flavor, cheddar cheese flavor, sour cream and onion flavor, bbq flavor, pizza flavor, and cheddar and sour cream flavor potato crisps
  • Make snack time more fun with the original, stackable potato crisp; pop open a can and experience the bold flavor and satisfying crunch of Pringles Potato Crisps
  • Always tasty, never greasy; a delicious and crispy way to put the wow in your snacking routine; a travel-ready food made to enjoy at home or on-the-go
  • Grab a cup at game time, pack a snack for school, enjoy a stack at the office and stow them in lunchboxes; the savory, stackable snack options are endless
  • 19.5-oz box containing 6, 0.67-oz cups of Original, 6, 0.74-oz cups of Sour Cream & Onion, 6, 0.74-oz cups Cheddar Cheese, 3, 0.74-oz cups BBQ, 3, 0.74-oz cups Pizza, and 3, 0.74-oz cups of Cheddar & Sour Cream Flavored Pringles Potato Crisps

Pringles Nutrition Info

Serving Size: 16 Crisps (28g)
Calories: 150
Calories from Fat: 90

Amount Per Serving%DV *
Total Fat 9g14%
Saturated Fat 2.5g13%
Cholesterol 0mg0%
Sodium 150mg6%
Total Carbohydrate 15g5%
Dietary Fiber <1g3%
Sugars 0g 
Protein 1g 
Vitamin A0%
Vitamin C6%
Calcium0%
Iron0%

*Percent Daily Values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet. Your daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs.

Source: Pringles Nutrition
Img src: Pringles, LLC

2 thoughts on “Are Pringles Gluten-Free?”

  1. Wheat starch is the only wheat containing ingredient. Wheat starch is supposed to not contain gluten (proteins removed to obtain just the starch). So the product contains starch, but does it contain GLUTEN?
    Thanks

    Reply
    • Hey Steph,
      Thanks, I’ve updated the post above. You are correct and I put more of a warning on this until labeling becomes more clear. The thing is that wheat starch could contain a small amount of gluten still. So my personal opinion is that it’s best to avoid it altogether for now. From my experience and conversations, many that suffer from gluten intolerances or have celiac also as have a hard time with wheat.

      Reply

Leave a Comment