Here is the complete Taco Bell gluten-free menu. We don’t personally recommend Taco Bell as a good place to eat gluten-free, but there are a couple of items. We would recommend checking out Chipotle for a better selection.
Taco Bell Gluten-Free Menu 2021
- Cantina Power Bowl – Chicken
- Cantina Power Bowl – Steak
- Cantina Power Bowl – Veggie
- Boss Nachos – Chicken
- Boss Nachos – Steak
- Black Beans
- Black Beans & Rice
- Chips and Guacamole
- Nacho Cheese Doritos Chips
- Triple Layer Nachos
In 2020, they removed Spicy Tostadas from their menu.
Taco Bell Sauces
- Border Sauce – Diablo
- Border Sauce – Hot
- Border Sauce – Mild
And all their soda and freezes are gluten-free.
Important: The Chips and Nacho Cheese Sauce doesn’t contain wheat, but it does contain gluten. Taco Bell’s beef mixes are gluten-free, but do contain oats.
Taco Bell Nachos
According to the Taco Bell website and sources we have talked to, they use white ground corn for their chips, not flour. Here are the official ingredients. White ground corn (with fumaric acid, cellulose gum, sodium propionate and sorbic acid (P). However, you might want to verify that with your local Taco Bell before trying the nachos.
Taco Bell History
Taco Bell is named after Glen Bell, its founder. The story of Taco Bell begins in 1946. At 23 years, Glen bell put up a hot dog stand in San Bernardino and dubbed it Bell’s Drive. Four years later he opened a hamburger stand in Latino neighborhood in San Bernardino, which he called Bell’s Hamburgers and Hot Dogs.
In early 1950, the area around Bell’s Hamburgers and Hot Dogs was saturated with similar restaurants which led Bell to decide to incorporate other menus in order to stay relevant. At this time, he noted that the Mexican restaurants across the street attracted long lines of customers because of their hard-shelled tacos. Over the next two years, he dined there with an attempt to reverse engineer the hard-shelled tacos recipes. With time, he became friends with the owners who shared their recipes.
A short time late, he introduced taco at his stand and in no time, they were outselling the hot dogs and hamburgers which made him focus solely on Mexican food. In 1954, together with a partner, they opened a taco stand which they called Taco Tia.
A few years later while Taco Tia was a hit and after marrying, Bell moved to Los Angeles and had to sell his shares of Taco Tia to his partner. He later opened El Taco with a group of partners. The new business was a hit in Southern California and it started with four locations. He later decided to sell his shares to the partners and begin from scratch once again.
Combining everything he had learned about fast foods and restaurants, Glen opened a restaurant that served Mexican specialties. A friend suggested he combines his name and passion and call the new restaurant Taco Bell. Therefore, in 1962, the first Taco Bell was opened, a simple 20-foot by 20-foot Spanish style stucco building.
Just six months later, he opened his second location in Long Beach and in two years, Taco Bell had opened over seven locations in the area.
In 1965, Glen sold his Franchise to Kermit Bekke and in 1967, over 100 Taco Bells had been scattered throughout Los Angeles.
In 1978, Taco Bell was sold to PepsiCo for $130,000,000 and from there the chain has grown to thousands. In 1997, PepsiCo spun off its food chains including KFC, Taco Bell and Piza Hut into Kentucky based Yum brands.
Taco Bell serves more than 2 billion customers each year across more than 6,500 restaurants. In 2015 Taco Bell launched delivery via Door Dash and also online ordering.
- Taco Bell Allergen Menu
If this Taco Bell gluten-free menu was helpful or if you find something inaccurate please let us know below.
Not happy with the Taco Bell menu? Let them know we want healthier gluten-free options. Contact Taco Bell
Taco Bell Gluten-Free Menu
- Gluten-Free Options
Taco Bell does not have a lot to eat for those that are gluten-free and so we cannot recommend them.